跳至主内容

特别消息

大古股份有限公司

马勒第七交响曲—黑夜的颜色

马勒於1860年出生於当时属奥地利波希米亚(今属捷克境内)的卡里斯特。「Mahler」一字解作「画家」,而马勒的祖先很可能真的是画家。马勒学习钢琴,并取得理想成绩,十岁便举行了他首次公开演出。1875年,他获维也纳音乐学院录取为钢琴学生,更赢得不同奖项,但他决定专注於作曲。马勒於1878年毕业,及后就像他的祖先一样,成为一名艺术家,但他使用的是音符而非颜料。

 

马勒的第一份受薪工作是指挥。作为音乐学院作曲系的学生,他已熟习了指挥学院的管弦乐团演奏自己的作品。他的余生都继续从事指挥工作,特别是指挥歌剧,这也意味著他只能利用假期的空档作曲,因此他有些作品需要数年才能完成。马勒的音乐以创新的和声、结构,以及尤其以丰富的管弦乐色彩而闻名。

 

马勒曾在较早期的一些交响曲中,包含了人声,就像贝多芬的第九交响曲一样。在他的第七交响曲里,他只透过各乐器创造了不同的色彩。

第七交响曲共有五个乐章,被称为「夜之乐」的第二和第四乐章於1904年夏天完成。其余三个乐章原打算於1905年完成,然而马勒却找不到创作灵感,经历了严重的「大脑闭塞」。他因害怕浪费整个夏天而感到绝望之际,划船的节奏将他的思绪带回湖边的避暑别墅,为他带来了交响曲开端的创作灵感,其余的乐章则在一个月内便完成了。1906年夏天,马勒继续修订第七交响曲。

 

第七交响曲的首演於1908年9月19日举行,由马勒亲自指挥。观众对作品礼貌地表示欣赏但却并不热衷。数星期后他再次於慕尼黑和阿姆斯特丹指挥作品,观众反应不一。马勒的妻子爱玛认为观众「几乎不了解」这音乐。

 

直到近年,观众才开始懂得欣赏马勒的第七交响曲。犹如葬礼进行曲的开端,色彩幽暗的「夜之乐」,中段奇怪的圆舞曲,以及结尾终於出现的曙光,现在都被理解为马勒生命的不同阶段。观众现在终能明白和享受乐曲的情绪和色彩,令第七交响曲在国际主要曲目中占一席位。 
 

返回

Skip to main content

Special notice

SWIRE

Mahler Symphony no. 7 – Colours of the Night

Gustav Mahler was born in 1860 in Kalischt, at that time part of Austrian Bohemia (part of Czechoslovakia today). The word “Mahler” actually means “painter” and very likely his distant ancestors were indeed painters. He studied the piano, and made excellent progress, giving his first public concert at the age of ten. Accepted as a piano student at the Vienna Conservatoire in 1875, he won prizes but decided to focus on composition, graduating in 1878. He had become an artist, like his ancestors, but using sound rather than paint. 

 

Mahler’s first paid jobs were as a conductor. He was used to this because the composition students had to conduct their own compositions, played by the Conservatoire Orchestra. He continued to work as a conductor, particularly of opera, for the rest of his working life. This meant he had to compose during his holidays, so some pieces took years to complete. His music is famous for new harmonies, structures, and especially, orchestral colours.

 

In some of his earlier symphonies, he had included human voices, as in Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony. However, for his Seventh Symphony, Mahler decided to use instrumental colours only. 

 

Planned as a work in five movements, the second and fourth movements, both called Nachtmusik (“night music”), were completed during the summer of 1904. The other three movements were to have been completed in 1905, but Mahler experienced problems finding creative ideas, a severe case of “writer’s block”. He was in despair about wasting the summer until the rhythm of the rowing boat taking him back to his lakeside summer house gave him the idea for the opening of the Symphony. The remaining movements were completed within a month. The summer of 1906 saw Mahler continuing to work on the Seventh Symphony.

 

The premiere took place on 19 September 1908 with Mahler himself conducting. The work was received politely but with little enthusiasm. A few weeks later he conducted it in Munich and Amsterdam but again, the reception was mixed. Mahler’s wife, Alma, wrote that the audience “scarcely understood” the music.

 

It was only recently that audiences have begun to respond to Mahler’s Seventh. The funeral-march-like opening, the dark colours of the Nachtmusik movements, the strange central waltz, and the rays of light coming through in the Finale are now seen as part of Mahler’s life. Audiences now enjoy the moods and colours, giving the Seventh Symphony its place in the international repertoire.

Back