跳至主內容

特別消息

大古股份有限公司

跟法國、德國和荷蘭等其它西歐國家不同,西班牙雖然屬於歐洲國家,但因她位處邊陲地帶,與非洲大陸也只一水之隔;加上自羅馬帝國滅亡後,西班牙曾受到來自北非信奉伊斯蘭教的摩爾人 (Moors) 統治達七百年之久,因此國家深受伊斯蘭文化的影響。大家到當地旅遊,可不要被當地混雜在一起的不同建築風格而不知所措。十三世紀末天主教皇朝取代了摩爾人的統治後,西班牙迅速崛起,並逐漸踏入國運史上的全盛時期。在往後的二、三百年間,西班牙資助無數探險家為國家找尋新的貿易路線 (當最廣為人知的名字便是哥倫布了) ,並到處建立殖民地,從而令國家獲得新世界的資源。她的領導地位直至十七世紀才被新興的海上霸主—英國所取代。

 

縱觀整個中世紀及文藝復興時期,西班牙的音樂發展主要以輸入歐洲其它音樂發達國家的風格為主。十六世紀被認為是西班牙音樂的第一個黃金時代,當時正值宗教狂熱,因而國內出現了大量的宗教作品,跟據記載當時全國共有超過五十位作曲家為教廷服務。

 

西班牙音樂在沉寂了三百多年後,在十九世紀末出現了它的「第二春」。當時不少年輕作曲家和演奏家在國內外都打響了名堂,當中最具代表性的人物相信便是以「民族主義」作主打的法雅 (M. de Falla) 了。法雅1876年在西班牙西南部的加的斯 (Cadiz) 出生,這個城市在中世紀曾被摩爾人統治達五百年,因此保留了深厚的伊斯蘭文化,在這裡長大的法雅自然亦深受這文化的影響。法雅其後移居馬德里 (Madrid),並入讀當地的音樂學院。1907-1914旅居巴黎的七年間,法雅認識了大批當地的音樂家如「印象主義」 (Impressionism) 大師德布西 (C. Debussy) 、拉威爾 (M. Ravel)、初出道的史達拉汶斯基 (I. Stravinsky) 等,深受他們的寫作風格所影響。當然,法雅的出現亦大大拓闊了德布西等人的視野,啟發了他們寫作富西班牙風味的樂曲。

 

在巴黎生活期間,法雅曾經為鋼琴編寫了一套「夜曲」(Nocturne),深獲同儕的讚賞。在他們的建議下,法雅嘗試把樂曲擴大及改編成一首包含三個樂章的鋼琴和管弦樂團合奏作品。消息傳出後,整個巴黎樂壇都在期待這首名為 《西班牙花園之夜》(Nights in the Gardens of Spain) 的首演。可惜直至法雅回國,作品還是未能完成。有專家認為,法雅回國後,一次機緣巧合,參觀了一個展示多個西班牙花園的畫展,並在那裡獲得最後的靈感,完成了這套作品。但亦有學者不同意這個說法,他們提出一套由法國詩人湛米斯 (F. Jammes) 所撰寫的詩集才是樂曲的靈感源頭。無論誰是誰非,《西班牙花園之夜》都明顯有著西班牙和法國音樂風格的強烈影響。法雅用以寫作這套作品的音階、節奏等元素都充滿了西班牙民族音樂的味道;但整首作品的配器法 (Orchestration) 卻呈現著法國「印象派」的影子。大家欣賞這首作品時,除了聆聽樂曲的旋律和它帶出的感覺外,還要多加留意整體的音色效果啊! 
 

返回

Skip to main content

Special notice

SWIRE

Spain is a European country. Unlike other nations in Western Europe such as France, Germany and the Netherlands, it is on the periphery and separated from the African continent only by a strip of water. Moreover, Spain was once, for seven hundred years, ruled by the Moors, a group of Muslims from the North Africa, so it has been deeply influenced by Muslim culture. When you travel there, don't be confused by the wide variety of architectural styles. After the Catholic Monarchs replaced the Moors as rulers, Spain rose to power rapidly and the country gradually entered its most glorious period. Over the next two to three hundred years, Spain sponsored innumerable explorers to find new trade routes for the country (the most famous was Christopher Columbus) and established overseas colonies to exploit resources from the New World. In the seventeenth century, its superior status was finally lost to the emerging sea power – the Britain.

 

The development of Spanish music during the Middle Ages and the Renaissance was mainly facilitated by the import of different musical styles from other European countries with a rich musical background. The sixteenth century is generally regarded as the first golden age of Spanish music, during which religious fervour fuelled a huge number of religious works. According to historical documents, over fifty composers were working for the Vatican at that time.

 

After over 300 years of stagnation, Spanish music had its second spring towards the end of the nineteenth century. At that time, many young composers and musicians became famous both at home and aboard. The most representative figure was probably Manuel de Falla, famous for his 'nationalistic' themes. He was born in 1876 in Cadiz, a city in southwestern Spain. The city had been ruled by the Moors for five hundred years during the Middle Ages and so had retained deep Muslim culture. Growing up there, Falla had naturally been deeply influenced by this culture. He later moved to Madrid and studied at a music college there. During his seven-year stay in Paris from 1907 to 1914, Falla met many local musicians, like the impressionist master Claude Debussy, as well as Maurice Ravel and the young Igor Stravinsky. Their composing styles influenced him greatly. But of course, the appearance of Falla also widened the vision of these musicians greatly and inspired them to compose music with a distinctive Spanish character.

 

While living in Paris, Falla wrote a Nocturne for piano which won him critical acclaim among his peers. At their suggestion, he expanded it into a three-movement piece movements for piano and orchestra. After the news broke, Parisians eagerly awaited the debut of this Nights in the Gardens of Spain . Unfortunately, the work had not been completed even by the time Falla returned to Spain. Some experts believed that Falla got the last inspiration from a chance visit to an art exhibition featuring various gardens in Spain, and was then able to complete the whole piece. But some academics did not agree with this theory and claimed that a poetry collection written by the French poet F. Jammes was the source of inspiration. No matter who is correct, it is evident that Nights in the Gardens of Spain represents the considerable influence of both Spanish and French musical styles. The elements of this work, like its scales and rhythms, follow the musical styles of Spanish national music, while the orchestration of the whole piece reminds us of French impressionism. When you listen to this work, do pay attention to its overall timbre effects besides the melodies and the feelings they arouse.
 

Back