Skip to main content

HK Phil 2020/21 Season Preview Concert

HK Phil 2020/21 Season Preview Concert

4 JUL 2020 (Sat) 8:00pm
Hong Kong Cultural Centre Concert Hall

House Programme  

Live Broadcast Concert


Thank you for watching the live broadcast of 2020/21 Season Preview Concert. An edited version of this concert in full length will be published on HK Phil YouTube, Facebook and this page on 1 Aug at 8pm, and repeated on RTHK Radio 4 on 9 July 14:00.



BEETHOVENSymphony no. 3, Eroica: 1st movement
BEETHOVENFidelio Overture
BEETHOVENRondo for Piano & Orchestra 
BEETHOVENRomance no. 2 
MOZARTPiano Concerto no. 26, Coronation: 1st movement
SCHUMANN Symphony no. 3, Rhenish: 1st movement
RAVEL Ma mère l’Oye (Mother Goose) Suite: 1st & 5th movements
STRAVINSKY Firebird Suite (1919): Berceuse & Finale 


Concert runs around 80 minutes without intermission.


We are so happy to present our first live broadcast concert to our dear audience! The Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra, under the baton of Lio Kuokman, is excited to bring you a concert showcasing a sampling of music from our upcoming 2020/21 season. Hong Kong pianists Rachel Cheung and Colleen Lee will join us in Beethoven’s Rondo and Mozart’s Piano Concerto no. 26: 1st movement, respectively; and HK Phil Concertmaster Jing Wang will play Beethoven’s Romance no. 2. The orchestra will also bring you masterworks by Beethoven, Ravel, Schumann and Stravinsky. Let’s rejoice in music!


Supported by 3 Hong Kong jointly with technology partner TFI, this concert will be live broadcast in 4K via 5G network on the HK Phil’s website, Facebook and YouTube channels.


The concert will also be live broadcast by RTHK Radio 4 (FM Stereo 97.6-98.9 MHz and