跳至主內容
大古股份有限公司
Hugh Wolff 伍爾夫

伍爾夫是同輩中最頂尖的指揮家之一,曾與北美所有著名樂團合作過,包括芝加哥、紐約、波士頓、費城、洛杉磯、三藩市和多倫多等樂團。他在歐洲同樣大受歡迎,曾與倫敦交響樂團、愛樂樂團、伯明翰市交響樂團、法國國家樂團、萊比錫布商管弦樂團及以色列愛樂等樂團合作。此外,他又經常於日本、北歐及澳洲等地演出,並經常於阿斯本、鄧肯活及拉維尼亞等重要音樂節中亮相。

伍爾夫於1979年開展其指揮事業,先於指揮大師羅斯卓波維契任內擔任國家交響樂團的副指揮,再於1986年至1993年間出任新澤西交響樂團的音樂總監,以及於1994至1997年任職芝加哥格蘭特公園音樂節的音樂總監。

伍爾夫由1988至2000年先後擔任聖保羅室樂團的首席指揮及音樂總監,並帶領樂團灌錄二十張大碟,又於美國、歐洲及日本巡迴演出。他們的合作被《紐約時報》盛讚為:「演來遊刃有餘,圓潤細緻……伍爾夫的詮釋處處顯示超卓品味。」

1997至2006年,伍爾夫任職法蘭克福電台樂團首席指揮,他們灌錄安泰爾的交響曲專輯,獲《星期日泰晤士報》評為「在伍爾夫領導下,樂團從開始到曲終一直散發耀眼光芒。」他們於歐洲、日本及中國巡演,又於多個音樂節亮相。

伍爾夫曾為Teldec灌錄多張大碟,指揮聖保羅室樂團及愛樂樂團演出。他由Decca發行的錄音則包括朗‧杰‧歌尼斯作品大碟﹝Argo廠牌﹞,以及與蒂博代及BBC交響樂團合作的大碟。此外,他又與漢恩為Sony Classical唱片錄音。Sony Classical發行的安泰爾交響曲專輯為他贏得2001年康城古典大獎。

伍爾夫生於巴黎,父母為美國人,早年於倫敦及華盛頓生活。於哈佛大學畢業後,他憑獎學金回到巴黎進修,分別跟隨指揮大師布魯格學習指揮及梅湘學習作曲。伍爾夫和太太育有三子,現居波士頓。

 

 

返回

Skip to main content

Special notice

2020-05-15

In view of the latest situation of COVID-19 and uncertainties in global business travels, along with discussions with our tour presenters, performing venues and related partners, the Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra’s (HK Phil) tour to Japan and Korea, originally have been rescheduled to a later time of the year, now has been cancelled.

The HK Phil, Music Director Jaap van Zweden, our Board of Governors as well as the administration put the health and well-being of our audience, players and staff at the forefront of our priorities. We sincerely hope that the orchestra’s home city, as well as other parts of the world, will recover soon and overcome the current challenging situation. The orchestra and its Music Director Jaap van Zweden look forward to performing for audiences in Japan and Korea in the near future.

The HK Phil would like to thank our tour presenters in Japan and Korea, our performing venue partners, as well as sponsors, for their support.
 
Ticket holders for the affected concerts, please visit websites of relevant performing venues for ticketing assistance.
SWIRE
Hugh Wolff

Hugh Wolff is among the leading conductors of his generation. He has appeared with all the major North American orchestras including those of Chicago, New York, Boston, Philadelphia, Los Angeles, San Francisco and Toronto. Wolff is much in demand in Europe, where he has worked with such orchestras as the London Symphony, Philharmonia, City of Birmingham Symphony, Orchestre National de France, Leipzig Gewandhaus and Israel Philharmonic. He is a regular guest conductor with orchestras in Japan, Scandinavia and Australia and a frequent conductor at festivals including Aspen, Tanglewood and Ravinia.

Wolff began his career in 1979 as Associate Conductor of the National Symphony Orchestra under Mstislav Rostropovich later going on to become Music Director of the New Jersey Symphony Orchestra (1986-1993) and Music Director of Chicago’s Grant Park Music Festival (1994-1997).

Wolff was Principal Conductor and then Music Director of the Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra (1988-2000), with whom he recorded twenty discs and toured the United States, Europe and Japan. Of this partnership, The New York Times wrote: “an effortlessly polished sound... Wolff shapes his interpretations with impeccable taste.”

Wolff was later Principal Conductor of the Frankfurt Radio Orchestra (1997-2006). The Sunday Times wrote of their recording of George Antheil’s symphonies: “the Frankfurt Radio SO under Wolff dazzles throughout.” Together they have toured Europe, Japan and China, and appeared at numerous festivals.

Wolff has an extensive discography on the Teldec label with the St Paul Chamber Orchestra and the Philharmonia Orchestra. His recordings for Decca include a disc of works by Aaron Jay Kernis (Argo label), and a disc with Jean-Yves Thibaudet and the BBC Symphony Orchestra. He has also recorded with Hilary Hahn for Sony Classical, which along with the disc of Antheil symphonies, won a 2001 Cannes Classical Award.

Born in Paris to American parents, Wolff spent his early years in London and Washington D. C. After graduating from Harvard, Wolff returned on a fellowship to Paris, where he studied conducting with Charles Bruck and composition with Olivier Messiaen. Wolff and his wife have three sons and live in Boston.

 

 

Back