Skip to main content

The HK Phil Concludes its 2022/23 Season 
with Tarmo Peltokoski and Leonidas Kavakos 

2 JUN 2023

Media Contact: 
Dennis Wu
Director of Marketing 
Tel: (852) 2721 9035

Emily Hui
Media Relations and Communications Manager
Tel: (852) 2721 1585


Download Here



[2 June 2023, Hong Kong]The Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra (HK Phil) and the superb young Finnish Maestro Tarmo Peltokoski will conclude the orchestra’s 2022/23 Season on 30 June & 1 July 2023 (Fri & Sat) with a stunning programme featuring the incomparable violinist Leonidas Kavakos in the Hong Kong Cultural Centre Concert Hall. 


The Season Finale will mark Tarmo Peltokoski’s HK Phil debut. Acclaimed by the Tagesspiegel as “a talent of a century”, Peltokoski was named Principal Guest Conductor by The Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen in January 2022, and became the first person awarded this title in the orchestra’s 42-year history. He has also held the position of Music and Artistic Director of the Latvian National Symphony Orchestra since the 2022/23 Season.


The concert opens with Finlandia, a poetic piece composed by Finnish composer Sibelius, who intended to reflect the Finns’ struggle under the rule of the Tsarist Russian Empire. The composer wrote as a protest against the increasing restrictions imposed upon the people, in an attempt to nurture a spark of hope that freedom would be restored in his nation.


Coming next is the beautifully-written music of passion – the Violin Concerto composed by Russian composer Tchaikovsky, a pillar of the Romantic era. The world-renowned violinist Leonidas Kavakos will join the stage and present one of the most iconic themes written by the composer, demonstrating impressive virtuoso techniques of this piece. By the age of 21, Kavakos had already won three major competitions: the Sibelius Competition in 1985, and the Paganini and Naumburg competitions in 1988.


The HK Phil will close the season on a high note with Shostakovich’s Tenth Symphony. The composer managed to express anger, violence, despair and suffering, merging a range of complex emotions experienced during the dark times in this very piece. However, it ends on a triumphant note, leaving scope for the audience’s imagination.


Season Finale: Peltokoski & Kavakos will be held on 30 Jun & 1 Jul 2023 (Fri & Sat) at 8PM in the Hong Kong Cultural Centre Concert Hall. Tickets priced at HK$880, $700, $520 and $380 are available at URBTIX and POPTICKET. For enquiries, please call +852 2721 2332 or visit





Tarmo Peltokoski, conductor [full description]

Finnish conductor Tarmo Peltokoski was awarded the title of Principal Guest Conductor in January 2022 by the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen and became the first conductor holding this position in the orchestra’s 42-year history. He also holds the positions of Music and Artistic Director of the Latvian National Symphony Orchestra, Music Director of the Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse, and Principal Guest Conductor of the Rotterdams Philharmonisch Orkest. In August 2022, at the age of 22, he completed his first Wagner Ring cycle at the Eurajoki Bel Canto Festival. 


Leonidas Kavakos, violin [full description]

Recognised across the world as a violinist and artist of rare quality, Leonidas Kavakos is acclaimed for his matchless technique, captivating artistry, superb musicianship, and the integrity of his playing. He works regularly with the world’s greatest orchestras and conductors, and plays as recitalist in the world’s premiere recital halls and festivals. He has developed close relationships with major orchestras such as the Vienna Philharmonic, Berliner Philharmoniker, Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, London Symphony Orchestra and Gewandhausorchester Leipzig. Kavakos also works closely with the Staatskapelle Dresden, Bayerischer Rundfunk, Munich Philharmonic and Budapest Festival Orchestra, Orchestre de Paris, Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia and Orchestra Filarmonica della Scala.





30 | 6 & 1 | 7 | 2023


Hong Kong Cultural Centre Concert Hall

HK$880 $700 $520 $380

Tickets now available at URBTIX and POPTICKET

For ages 6 and above




Tarmo Peltokoski


Leonidas Kavakos







Violin Concerto


Symphony no. 10





Photo - 1
Tarmo Peltokoski 
Photo: Peter Rigaud
Photo - 1
Leonidas Kavakos 
Photo:  Marco Borggreve
Photo - 1
Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra
Photo: Keith Hiro/HK Phil
Download Photo