跳至主內容
大古股份有限公司
學士合唱團

學士合唱團由前香港大學合唱團成員在1979年創立,延續學生時代培育出來的音樂熱誠。演唱的曲目式式紛陳,雅俗共賞。學士曾為本地傑出音樂家新曲作首演,計有羅炳良教授、曾葉發博士、陳偉光教授、羅永暉先生、陳慶恩博士、麥漢超先生及李家泰先生的作品。

學士近年的大型週年音樂會都與學士管弦樂團一同演出,包括巴哈《尊主頌》、布拉姆斯《命運之歌》、契爾考特《爵士彌撒曲》、馬勒第八交響曲-《千人交響曲》、莫札特《安魂曲》、普勞林斯《里加彌撒曲》、普羅高菲夫《亞歷山大.湼夫斯基》、羅西尼《榮耀彌撤曲》、瑞特《尊主頌》及威爾第《安魂彌撒曲》。除此,學士每年仍會舉辦規模較小的音樂會。

學士致力推廣音樂。自2007年,我們邀請大學、中學合唱團、及兒童合唱團一起演出,亦鼓勵樂師的學生隨老師同台演出,藉此増加經驗和信心。為提升團員的音樂水平,每年均舉辦「學士學唱音樂會」,讓團員以獨唱、二重唱及小組形式演出,又提供機會使有志發展合唱指揮的團員擔任指揮,更邀請年輕音樂愛好者作嘉賓演出。

近年,也發展了門票資助計劃。自2006年,邀請善心人士捐出學生票,讓四千多名學生透過此安排得以觀賞合唱音樂藝術。初次接觸這類音樂的學生給予學士正面的回應。得此鼓勵,學士會再接再厲,讓更多學生受惠。

學士亦致力參與社會服務及慈善項目,常在社區、療養院和老人院舉辦小型外展音樂會。自2003年,學士共舉辦了二十一場慈善音樂會,透過香港基督教協進會捐款予其在國內「重建診所」、「愛心水窖」、「重建危校」、「走進高中」、「書香校園圖書捐贈」等計劃。學士亦曾為點滴是生命(前香港華光功德會) 在甘肅籌建水窖,及參加其「點滴揹水行」步行籌款活動。過去幾年,學士更曾合辦及參與數個地震賑災音樂會。

自學助學,為「學士」賦上新義。

 

 

返回

Skip to main content
SWIRE

The Learners Chorus

The Learners Chorus

The Learners Chorus was founded in 1979 by former members of the Hong Kong University Students’ Union Choir, who wished to continue their passion in choral singing nurtured during their student years. Its repertoire includes a wide spectrum of choral works, ranging from medieval plainsongs to contemporary jazz. In support of the local music scene, the choir has also performed commissioned works by distinguished Hong Kong composers, including Dr. Chan Hing Yan, Dr. Victor Chan, Dr. Daniel Law, Mr. Law Wing Fai, Dr. Phoebus Lee, Mr. Michael Mak and Dr. Richard Tsang.

The Chorus usually holds one major concert a year with the Learners Orchestra. Major choral works that have been performed in recent years include Bach’s Magnificat, Brahms’ Schicksalslied, Chilcott’s A Little Jazz Mass, Mahler’s Symphony No. 8 “Symphony of a Thousand”, Mozart’s Requiem, Prauliņš’ Missa Rigensis, Prokofiev’s Alexander Nevsky, Rossini’s Messa diGloria, Rutter’s Magnificat and Verdi’s Messa da Requiem. In addition, one or two smaller–scale concerts are held each year.

The Learners Chorus is devoted to the promotion of music among young people by inviting them to perform together. Since 2007, the Learners Chorus has invited more than ten different choirs from Hong Kong’s universities, secondary schools and children choruses to perform with us. Students are also given the opportunity to play in the Learners Orchestra alongside with professional players. Young choir members interested in choral conducting have been offered the chance to conduct the Chorus in various concerts. Talented young musicians at times are invited to appear as our guest performers. Learners Learning Concerts have been held in recent years to enhance choir members’ vocal skills through ensemble, duet or even solo singing.

Another project the Chorus has undertaken to fulfill its mission of spreading the interest in music among Hong Kong’s youth is its Student Ticket Sponsorship Programme. Since 2006, over 4,000 students, many first-timers, have been given tickets to our concerts, all sponsored by benevolent friends of Learners.

The Chorus is active in community and charitable work. Outreach concerts are presented from time to time at elderly homes, sheltered workshops, homes for the disabled, etc. Since 2003, Learners has presented twenty-one fund-raising concerts. Net ticket proceeds have been donated to various charitable projects of the Hong Kong Christian Council, including the “Rebuilding Village Clinics Project”, “Water Cellars for Homes Project”, “Rebuilding Collapsing Schools Project”, “Senior High School Sponsorship Project” and “School Library Books Project”, all in the Mainland. In addition, Learners has raised funds for A Drop of Life Limited (formerly Lotus Light Charity Society) to install water cellars in Gansu, and participated in their “Walk for Water” project. The Chorus also co-presented and participated in earthquake relief concerts for China.

By enhancing the learning of the young through our concerts and charitable projects, the Chorus strives to live up to the name of Learners in a fuller sense.

 

 

Back