Media Contact:
Doris Chan
Director of Marketing
Tel: (852) 2721 9035
Mobile: (852) 9776 8445

Becky Lee
Media Relations Manager
Tel: (852) 2721 1585
Mobile: (852) 9201 4642

Hong Kong Philharmonic Announces New Board of Governors

10th November 2008

Hong Kong, 10th November 2008 –The Hong Kong Philharmonic Society today has announced a new Board of Governors. The Board of Governors is responsible for the overall management and direction of the Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra.

The new Board of Governors of the Hong Kong Philharmonic Society will be made up of the following members:

Mr. Y S Liu, Chairman
Mr. Chung Shui-ming, GBS, JP, Vice-Chairman
Dr. Peter P F Chan, BBS, MBE, DS, PhD, JP
Mrs. Michelle Ong Cheung
Mrs. Janice Choi
Mr. Glenn Fok
Prof. David Gwilt, MBE
Mr. Edward ST Ho, SBS, OBE, JP
Mrs. Paulette Ho
Mr. Lam Woon-kwong, GBS, JP
Dr. Lilian Leong, BBS, JP
Prof. Liu Ching-chih
Mr. Daniel Ng Yat-chiu
Mr. Nicholas Sallnow-Smith
Mr. Benedict Sin Nga-yan
Mr. Jack C K So, JP
Mr. So Hau-leung
Mr. Stephan G. Spurr
Mr. Kenny Wong Kam-shan
Mr. David Zacharias

Other committees:
Endowment Trust Fund
Board of Trustees

Mr Chung Shui-ming, GBS, JP , Chair
Dr Peter P F Chan BBS, MBE, DS, PhD, JP
Mr Edward ST Ho, SBS, OBE, JP
Mr Daniel Ng Yat-chiu

Honorary Advisers
Dr the Hon Marvin Cheung, OBE, SBS, JP
Prof Chan Wing-wah, JP
Mr Vincent Chow Wing-shing, MBE, JP
Ms Pansy Ho Chiu-king
Mr Hu Fa-kuang, GBS, CBE, JP
Lady Kadoorie
Dr Ronald Leung, OBE, JP
Mr Shum Choi-sang, SBS, OBE, MA, JP
Ms Ada Wong Ying-kay, JP
The Hon Sir T. L. Yang, GBM, JP

Executive Committee
Mr Y S Liu, Chair
Mrs Janice Choi
Mr Chung Shui-ming, GBS, JP
Mr Edward ST Ho, SBS, OBE, JP
Mr Stephan G. Spurr

Finance Committee
Mr Chung Shui-ming, GBS, JP, Chair
Mr Glenn Fok
Mr Y S Liu
Mr Nicholas Sallnow-Smith

Fundraising Committee
Mrs Janice Choi, Chair
Ms Brenda Chow Kam-wah
Mr Daniel Ng Yat-chiu
Ms Deborah Biber
Mr Jack C K So, JP
Mrs Paulette Ho

Development Committee
Mr Stephan G. Spurr , Chair
Ms Joanne Chan
Mrs Janice Choi
Ms Brenda Chow Kam-wah
Prof David Gwilt, MBE
Mrs Paulelte Ho
Mr Vance Lee
Dr Lilian Leong, BBS, JP
Mr Daniel Ng Yat-chiu
Mr So Hau-leung

Hailed as “one of Asia's top orchestras”, the Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra (HKPO) is led by the internationally renowned Artistic Director and Chief Conductor Edo de Waart. Enriching Hong Kong’s cultural life for over a century, the Orchestra has grown into a formidable ensemble of Chinese and international talents in the last three decades, attracting world-class artists to perform on the same stage. In April 2006, The Swire Group Charitable Trust became the Hong Kong Philharmonic’s Principal Patron to enable Maestro de Waart’s artistic vision for the Orchestra to be realized. HKPO annually touches the lives of 200,000 music lovers through more than 150 performances, including a series of outreach activities including the city’s largest outdoor symphonic concert in Happy Valley, Swire Symphony under the Stars. Please visit for more information about the Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra.

The Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra is financially supported by the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.

SWIRE is the Principal Patron of the Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra.