Media Contact:
Doris Chan
Director of Marketing
Tel: (852) 2721 9035
Mobile: (852) 9776 8445

Becky Lee
Media Relations Manager
Tel: (852) 2721 1585
Mobile: (852) 9201 4642

HKPO & De Waart celebrates Mozart's 250th with Forever! Mozart


Hong Kong, 2 Feb 2006 – In celebration of the 250th anniversary of the composer's birth, Edo de Waart will conduct the Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra (HKPO) in an all-Mozart programme on 9 February at the Hong Kong City Hall Concert Hall. Forever! Mozart will feature three of the most endearing masterpieces by the composer: Gran Partita (excerpts), Clarinet Quintet and Jupiter Symphony. This concert is an exciting preview for four more fascinating programmes which HKPO will present in April to June under the theme of Mozart in the City .

Mozart's only and immensely popular Clarinet Quintet will feature HKPO Principal Clarinet Andrew Simon, along with Second Associate Concertmaster Wong Sze-hang (violin), Third Associate Concertmaster Bei Zhu (violin),  violist Zhao Yu and Principal Cello Richard Bamping. Mozart played the viola when this work was first performed.

Serenade No. 10, or Gran Partita , is a work for 13 instruments: 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 basset horns, 2 bassoons and contrabassoon, and two pairs of horns in different keys to add greater colour and range to the work.

The final work in the programme is Mozart's last and greatest symphony, which was given the title Jupiter after the Roman god who was associated with thunder and thunderbolts. The final movement contains some of the most contrapuntal music Mozart ever wrote, and demands orchestral playing of utmost refinement.

Mozart in the City begins on 7 & 8 April, featuring Richard Tognetti as the violinist and director of the concerts. The final programme in the series will be held on 16 & 17 June, with Edo de Waart conducting the HKPO in Mozart's final three symphonies, a perfect climax to Mozart ' s 250th anniversary celebrations.

Forever! Mozart

9/2/2006 (THU) 8pm
Hong Kong City Hall Concert Hall
HK $150, $100
Tickets available at URBTIX now
Reservation: 2734 9009/ 2111 5999
Enquiry: 2721 2030/

Edo de Waart, conductor


Mozart :

Serenade No.10 in B-flat, K.361 Gran Partita
(Movements No. 1, 3, 7)
Quintet for clarinet and strings, K.581
(featuring Andrew Simon, Wong Sze-hang, Bei Zhu, Zhao Yu, Richard Bamping)
Symphony No. 41, K.551 Jupiter