Media Contact:
Doris Chan
Director of Marketing
Tel: (852) 2721 9035
Mobile: (852) 9776 8445

Becky Lee
Media Relations Manager
Tel: (852) 2721 1585
Mobile: (852) 9201 4642

De Waart Conducts All-Richard Strauss


Hong Kong, 28 Jan 2005 – Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra (HKPO) presents a concert of all-Richard Strauss programme, conducted by HKPO Artistic Director and Chief Conductor Edo de Waart. A highlight is the appearance of today’s leading instrumentalist Radovan Vlatkovic, featured in Strauss’ Horn Concerto No.2. Two performances will take place on 4 & 5 February 2005 (Fri & Sat) at 8pm in the Hong Kong Cultural Centre Concert Hall.

Edo de Waart is one of the world’s leading interpreters of Richard Strauss’ music. His recent performance of Strauss’ other masterpiece, Salome, received tremendous acclaims, with many noting the impressive transformation within the HKPO. His farewell performance at the Netherlands Opera, where he served as the Chief Conductor from 2000 until 2004, was Strauss’ Der Rosenkavalier, greeted with all-round praise.

In order to display the symphony orchestra’s power and virtuosity to its fullest, Richard Strauss’ works regularly employs an orchestra of over 100 players, requiring extra musicians to be added to the Philharmonic. Earlier in his career, Strauss produced a series of spectacular tone poems, which depict immortal characters from literature. However, he focused on the family In his delightful and humorous Symphonia Domestica (Domestic Symphony), which describes the boisterous but affectionate family life of Mr. and Mrs. Strauss and their child. Accused of “glorifying the banal” in the Symphonia Domestica, Strauss responded; “What could be more serious than married life? Marriage is the most profound event in life and the spiritual joy of such a union is heightened by the arrival of a child. Marriage naturally has its humour, which I also injected into this work to enliven it”.

Radovan Vlatkovic is acclaimed around the world as one of the finest exponents of the French horn, appearing in major international music events such as the Salzburg, Vienna and Edinburgh music festivals. Critically acclaimed recordings include Strauss Concertos with the renowned English Chamber Orchestra.

Vlatkovic’s warm tone and lyrical phrasing are an ideal match for Richard Strass’ Horn Concerto No. 2. Written in the composer’s “Indian Summer” of the 1940s, it is filled with a spirit of eternal youth, flamboyant and elegant at the same time.

Completing the programme is Strauss’ Serenade. The teenage Strauss wrote the Serenade Op. 7, a sweet and lyrical work for wind ensembles. Influence of Mozart’s Serenade for Thirteen Winds is palpable.

Tickets are now available at URBTIX at HK$380, $280, $200, and $120, through reservation at 2734 9009 (URBTIX) or Credit Card Booking at 2111 5999 (Cityline). For enquiries, please visit or call 2721 2030.