Great Collaborations
A good combination makes possible a good condition, which is how sparks are ignited in the music being performed.

Yuja Wang returns to collaborate with Jaap van Zweden in Tchaikovsky’s popular First Piano Concerto. It is music which is widely loved, full of passion and bursting with energy. They will also perform the poetic Second Piano Concerto by Beethoven. An exceptional combination of performers and repertoire.

Yuja Wang will also share the stage with three of the HK Phil’s principals — Jing Wang, Andrew Ling and Richard Bamping. They will perform Tchaikovsky’s Piano Trio in A minor, 'In Memory of a Great Artist'. The programme also includes Brahms’ Piano Quartet in G minor, which was premiered by Schumann’s pianist wife Clara. Both are emotionally rich pieces. Another great combination of performers and repertoire.

As for Jaap van Zweden and HK Phil, they will perform Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring, which is marked by extraordinarily fierce rhythms as well as strange yet passionate power, and Mahler’s Fifth Symphony, in which the composer saw death and encountered love while writing the piece. They are both great pieces of music that offer immense challenges and allow the orchestra the full opportunity to display its expressive power. A wonderfully challenging combination.

Although the combinations in the three programmes are different, they all are great encounters in which the audience can look forward to the igniting of musical sparks.

Chow Fan-fu        Seasoned music critic

1 & 2 SEP 2017 Fri & Sat 8pm
$880 $680 $480 $380

TCHAIKOVSKY Piano Concerto no. 1
STRAVINSKY The Rite of Spring

Jaap van Zweden, conductor
Yuja Wang, piano

Title Sponsor of Opening Night Concert: QBE Insurance


6 SEP 2017 Wed 8pm
$680 $480 $380 $280

TCHAIKOVSKY Piano Trio in A minor, op. 50
BRAHMS Piano Quartet no. 1 in G minor, op. 25

Yuja Wang, piano
Jing Wang, violin
Andrew Ling, viola
Richard Bamping, cello


8 & 9 SEP 2017 Fri & Sat 8pm
$880 $680 $480 $380

BEETHOVEN Piano Concerto no. 2
MAHLER Symphony no. 5

Jaap van Zweden, conductor
Yuja Wang, piano

9 Sep performance is sponsored by SUNWAH KINGSWAY


All concerts will be held in the Hong Kong Cultural Centre Concert Hall unless otherwise stated.